The Hoarder Next Door

 

Micky Mouse milk bottle design

Micky Mouse milk bottle design

Before Christmas I took part in filming for The Hoarder Next Door. A local man has a Milk Bottle Museum with 30,000 milk bottles and I was rung by Channel 4 to see if I could make use of any glass bottles…..silly question…yes of course I can use glass bottles I said! Little did I realise what I was letting myself in for….

cereal designs milk bottles

cereal designs milk bottles

DSCN3229

 

My sister now jokes that I’ve become the hoarder next door as I have around 200 milk bottles in the garage ready to turn into teabag dishes or just to sell on as unusual vases. Some of the bottles are advertising products while others are from dairies all over the country. If you are interested in a certain region please get in touch and I can see if I have one that matches your request.

The Hoarder Next Door

The Hoarder Next Door

Who remembers these? I wasn’t a fan of milk at school but know that lots of people were, so these bring back happy memories. I have bottles from Co-op, United Dairies and Unigate.

school milk bottles

school milk bottles

 

screen printed milk bottles

screen printed milk bottles

Some bottles have lovely designs on them….would it be bad it I hung onto this one?!? I do love a bit of hot choc 🙂

I’ve been experimenting with flattening the milk bottles into teabag dishes. Some of the designs are clear glass and others have got colour inside them. The gold works really well for the orange juice bottle. I’m now selling these for £5

 

milk bottle spoon rests

milk bottle spoon rests

 

milk bottle teabag dish

milk bottle teabag dish

Other bottles look great just as they are so these are just £3

 

milk bottle dish

milk bottle dish

 

Leave a Reply

